Shri Debi Prasad Mishra
Cabinet Minister



Shri Madhu Sudan Padhi, IAS
Higher Education

Web Directory


Notification 488 non-Govt. aided Colleges

HPC proceedings

Right to information

Notification CAS  Govt. College Lecturers

Notification CAS  Non Govt. College

Scholarship for Engineering &Medical Students

Award of Loan Stipend for Students 2008-09

Office order/Letter No 

Training programme & Guidelines

Notification CAS


Acts and Rules

key officers

BJB Application form


List of Govt. Colleges

District wise and Block wise College List

List of De-Recognized Colleges 

Vocational Education

P.G. Courses

MCA Courses

Self financing Courses

Non-government Colleges

Government Colleges










The Department of Higher Education of the State Looks after education at University, Post-Graduate, Graduate and Higher Secondary level. It also provides Vocational Education in order to prepare the Youth for self-employment. The Department also promotes professional courses in Government and Private Sector. The Department further provides grant to a number of specialized and research institutes like Naba Krushna Choudhury Centre for Development Studies and Institute of Physics.

 The Department is looking after effective functioning of six Universities namely:

 1)     Utkal University

2)     Berhampur University

3)     Sambalpur University

4)     Sri Jagannath Sanskrit Viswavidyalaya

5)     North Orissa University

6)     Fakir Mohan University

 General information regarding different Universities, Colleges is mentioned below.

Total No. of Universities 7                    

Name of the University               Teaching                                Non-Teaching


i) Utkal University                         340                                           730


ii) Berhampur University                 186                                           350


iii) Sambalpur University                177                                           336


iv) Sri Jagannath Sanskrit

     Viswavidyalaya,Puri                 41                                               45


v) North Orissa University              30                                               13


vi) Fakir Mohan University              30                                                13


vii) O.U.A.T.                                119                                                -


                                      Total    923                                                  1487


 Total No. of Government Colleges 92


i)                    Degree College 44

ii)                           Jr. College 48



Total No. of Autonomous College 15


Total No. of Lead Colleges 25


Institute of Management and

Information Technology, Cuttack - 01         Teaching - 21          Non-Teaching - 16 = 37


Total No. of Aided Colleges 448

                   (+2) Colleges 194


            Plan           4062                                3653   = 7715

      Non-Plan           2524                                2164   = 4688


                                 6586                                5817   = 12403


          Block Grant -       715                                          275    =   990